Memoir Writing…Completion to Resources for Writing Your Memoir

I’ve finished doing a self-edit of my memoir.  I did it on a copy I had printed out and forgot page numbers…whoops…yes, those could be important.  🙂 After going back and fixing a few things I found, I have officially printed out my first good copy of my memoir.  It is done.  Feels good to say that for more than one reason.

My memoir is done because I feel the story is done being told.  Though I know I said I wasn’t worried about word count, and I’m not, I think it’s still neat to know it ended up 32, 317 words.  It is 94 pages long, but 98 if the extra pages are included.  The extras are a dedication page, resource page, and a couple of pages of poetry.

My Memoir

My Memoir

My Memoir

My Memoir

The next step, and I am taking baby steps, is to turn my baby lose cautiously.  I need to let a few other people read it to get some feedback.  I know I sound like I’m obsessing a bit calling it my baby, but it is.  This is the first book I’ve ever written and the story is a part of me.

The best thing about being done and the story being written is this wonderful feeling of release.  There is a freedom in having some of my most painful experiences in life out of me and into words.  For me it’s actually been easier to find the written words than it would have been trying to speak them.

We all have stories in us and I would highly recommend writing a memoir to anyone.  I think it can especially be part of the healing process if there is something difficult you are dealing with in your life.  Reading memoirs written by others is a good place to get started learning about writing stories from life.  Here are a few other books and a blog I’ve found helpful as I’ve learned more about memoir writing :

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathleen Pooler (@KathyPooler)
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 14:58:53

    Congratulations, Sabrina on completing your memoir! I appreciate the link and feel honored that you mentioned Memoir Writer’s Journey as a resource. In sharing what I’ve learned about memoir writing, I have gained so much from others. I love how we can learn so much from one another. I’ll be following your progress toward publication and wish you the best in this next phase of your journey!

    Reply

  2. linneann
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 15:17:53

    Congratulations. 🙂

    Reply

  3. darlenecraviotto
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 17:34:25

    It is an amazing feeling to finish writing a completed piece. In many ways, it may even feel more rewarding when that piece is a memoir because you’ve been able to purge yourself of feelings you might not have been able to speak. You are right to think of those beautiful pages as your newborn: You are the one who gave birth to it! Treat it as you would any other newborn – protect it, nourish it, and help it grow. And as all good parents do, then you must let it go off into the world. What a wonderful journey together you (and you memoir) will have! Congratulations!

    Reply

  4. Vikki (The View Outside)
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 22:23:46

    Wow, congratulations honey 🙂

    Xx

    Reply

  5. sherriepalmer
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 23:35:15

    What a huge accomplishment! Good for you!

    Reply

  6. CMSmith
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 20:51:20

    Congratulations on finishing your story. Even if nothing else happens with it, you have made a big accomplishment and you deserve to feel proud.

    Thanks for the link. I wish you the success you hope for with your memoir.

    Reply

  7. bridget whelan
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 12:20:16

    Of course it’s your baby! That doesn’t sound precious or obsessive at all – anyone who has done something creative (and I think non fiction can be just as creative fiction) will understand what you mean. Congratulations and I’m so glad you found it helped the healing process. I think it can have that affect – especially when you have achieved some distance from the events that hurt. Writing when you are going through something is good too but at that stage it is a very private matter, not easily shared.
    Thank you for all these resources – I shall check them out. It’s generous of you.

    Reply

  8. elainecougler
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 14:53:52

    So proud of you, Sabrina! That is a huge effort. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Trackback: How To Write A Book Of Memoirs Fast | Online Book Assembler

Leave a Reply

