Sweet Treats

Christmas

Christmas

I have a few treats to share today. My sweetest treat is my first official poem has been published at The Barefoot Review in the Winter 2012 issue. I hope you’ll pop over and read it.

I’ve also been nominated for the Beautiful Blogger award from Vikki over at The View Outside blog. Not doing it properly yet, will try to do catch up, but wanted to take time to say “Thank You”. I know some beautiful bloggers I’d like to nominate too.

Another sweet treat, I discovered yesterday over at the Mere Inkling blog, while reading about personal libraries.  There’s an offer to send off for 10 free letterpress bookmarks, just at the cost of an envelope and SASE. You can find out more about the offer over at Peach Farm Studio. It expires soon, requests have to be there by December 31st.

The last sweet treat is the recipe for my now official favorite treat…decadent chocolate meringues. I have to make more as we ate the first batch. 🙂 These are really easy to make. I use my kitchen mixer to whip them up as I’ve never had success whipping egg whites by hand. The mixer makes quick work of it.

Put 2 egg whites, 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar, a pinch of salt, and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract in the mixer bowl. Beat till soft peaks form, then gradually add in 2 Tbsp. cocoa powder and 1/2 cup of sugar, beating till stiff peaks form. May take about 7 or 8 minutes.

Drop by teaspoonfuls on a baking sheet. I try to swirl it around with the spoon and leave it with a nice pretty peak on top. Bake at 225 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. These last a long time and are great for gift giving to the chocolate lovers in your life.

1222121127-00

 

 

 

 

 

Merry Christmas!!! 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vikki (The View Outside)
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 19:20:25

    CONGRATULATIONS! 🙂

    You’re very welcome honey xx

    Reply

  2. bridget whelan
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 21:29:35

    Feels like Christmas is starting…thanks for the recipe and I’m off to read your poem

    Reply

  3. Julie
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:05:20

    Wow. I so must wake the hub. It’s going to be a yummy good day! Thanks!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment