The Book of Me – Prompt 2: Your Birth

If you missed the last post about The Book of Me writing prompts you can read more here. This week’s prompt was about Your Birth and you can find out more about The Book of Me at Anglers Rest.

My Baby Picture

My Baby Picture

(Skimpier version with some things like year I was born omitted for a reason… confidentiality and the wise saying a lady doesn’t reveal her age. 🙂 )

Back when I was born, dads were not allowed in the room, so my dad was in the waiting room while my mother had me. I was born in the wee hours of the night, after midnight and before 6:00am, weighing in at 8 pounds 4 ounces. My mother assures me I had hair, though from the pictures it doesn’t look like much. She says I wasn’t a baldy till I did what newborns sometimes do and rubbed some of it off.

An unusual thing, at least to me, is I was born in an army hospital over in Germany. My dad was in the Air Force. My mother actually had been too, until she became pregnant with me. It was customary in those days for women to leave the military when they had children. Mothers stayed at the hospital longer back then too. She says she was there about 5 days before we were released to go home. She took me home in a white and yellow bunting set as the first snow was falling.

A funny story about my birthday is that most of my life I grew up believing I was born on one day and always celebrated my birthday on that day. It was the day my mother told me I was born. Years later, I think it was in my teen years, I finally saw my birth certificate and found out I was born a day earlier. My mother still swears it was the day she told me and doesn’t know why the discrepancy. It wasn’t even one of those things like being born close to midnight or international time that could account for it. Oh well. 🙂

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cara Thereon
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 01:24:34

    Adorable!!! It’s funny. My mother can remember more details from my older sister and younger brother’s births than she can for mine. My baby book lacked the usual things in it. If I didn’t look like her, I would’ve guessed she wasn’t there for my delivery.

    Reply

    • creativityorcrazy
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 18:40:54

      Awww, you got shorted like my sister. I was the oldest, so of course there was more. My poor sister came along and I guess mom was so busy, she really didn’t do a baby book for her.

      Reply

  2. Kat Mortensen
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 13:32:56

    Do you feel conflicted when your birthdate rolls around each year? I would.

    I had no idea that newborns rub off their hair.

    Reply

    • creativityorcrazy
      Sep 11, 2013 @ 18:35:22

      I do. I kinda still acknowledge that it happened per paper the day before, but I usually still celebrate the day after. Just what I got used to…lol. Yep, some babies do. My daughter got just a little bald spot at the back of her head. I guess it’s just from them lying down so much and wiggling their little heads on the mattress.

      Reply

  3. Vikki Thompson
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 09:15:57

    Oh wow! So do you think the registrar got it wrong when they wrote your certificate?

    Awwww, weren’t you cute!

    xx

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The Book of Me – Prompt 3 : Describe Your Physical Self | creativityorcrazy

Leave a Reply

