Simplicity for Writing’s Sake

(Last week I was sick with a very sore throat…only felt like curling up with a good book and doing bare essentials. My voice is back, still trying to kick my writing back into gear. Figured I’d do a post for starters.)

Nice cup of tea and writing

Nice cup of tea and writing

What’s the most important thing a writer needs to do?…WRITE! This can get difficult when so many things get in the way. Any writer can probably list a zillion things which keep them from writing, we’re bombarded with distractions and interruptions on a daily basis. This is LIFE! Many writers will claim, because of all this it’s hard to find time to write.

Now, no one start throwing wads of balled up paper at me…I have TIME…I have time in excess! My problems are procrastinating and getting my head in the right spot.  I’ve become even a more full time caregiver to my spouse. He sleeps many hours a day, due to his health problems, so there’s plenty of uninterrupted writing time. I’m even one of those writers with a job allowing me time to write, though I don’t work many days a month.

The trouble is I feel so overwhelmed at times, it feels as if I’d need a backhoe to start digging my way out. After doing, what I guess you could call some soul searching, I think I’ve happened upon a solution of sorts. I’ve decided I need to start simplifying. It’ll be slow go, but it will feel like I’m getting somewhere and help me to clear my head, so I can write more productively.

I’m not giving up blogging, I’m too attached, but I am trying to reduce some of the other clutter in my life. It’s a reevaluation of sorts. These are some of the steps I’m going to take in an attempt to simplify life :

  • Unsubscribe from email newsletters no longer applicable or useful in my life(example-no longer homeschool, but still get homeschool newsletters)
  • Unfollow some blogs I’m just not so interested in or find helpful
  • Limit time spent on facebook—considering taking a facebook break for a few days as well as unfriending a few groups and people that post so much it’s overwhelming to sort through
  • Limit time spent on pinterest—this is a stress reducer for me—usually good with my time, just need to continue
  • Try not to have internet up if writing on computer unless : 1. need for reference–sometimes use Dictionary.com to look up words I’m not sure about; or 2. to listen to my favorite YouTube playlist while I write–Soothing Music

I’m going to head to the kitchen for a hot cup of herbal tea, hit the play button on my favorite music CD, and sit at the kitchen table writing with pen and paper.  Have you thought of ways you can free up your mind and your life, so you can write or write more effectively? Happy writing… 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jae
    Mar 18, 2013 @ 17:36:46

    I envy your time, I must admit. Sometimes it seems a real struggle to find time. But I like your renewed sense of commitment. I too am currently trying to recommit to a better writing schedule. Hopefully we’ll both come out winners. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Vikki Thompson
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 07:51:52

    Good for you honey! Now, if only I could do the same (currently ploughing through 484 e mails lol).

    Xx

    Reply

    • creativityorcrazy
      Mar 21, 2013 @ 12:41:54

      Ow, that’s a lot of emails to catch up on. I think I’d be tempted to wipe them for a clean slate. I wouldn’t because I’d have to go through them, but I’d be tempted. 🙂

      Reply

  3. bridget whelan
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 10:16:27

    This is what I should do. Think probably we should all do this – making the rules fit our lives/vices (mine email – so easily diverted….). Get writing students who have paid good money to come on a course but never turn in any out of class work because of time. Yet admit that they have watched a lot of television (or other people’s stories as I some times call it). Don’t moan at them. They are adults and make their own choices but ask them to think why. Usually 1) they want to write but they haven’t got the need to write – the writer’s curse Graham Greene called it which is nothing to do with how good you are. 2) they are not ready to write (maybe TV is taking them away from tensions that feel overwhelming) but maybe something on te course will stick and help their creative life in 6 months or 6 years time…but I think it’s helpful to think about it and set goals and rules. So my goal for today is to think about doing just that! Thanks for the inspiration….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

