Writing Habits and Music ~ ♪

Music guitar

Music guitar (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

Everyone who writes has their favorite writing spots and habits. There are different things that work for different people. We just each have to find out what it is that helps our drive to write and encourages the flow of words. I’ve taken to being more observant about many things in life, including my writing habits. Even about ourselves, I don’t know that we always realize things right away. I thought I’d share a bit about my writing habits I’ve discovered and share some music.

I write anytime an idea strikes in my head on whatever is available. Notebooks abound in my home and I usually carry one with me. If a notebook isn’t readily available to grab, then I have written on the back of random receipts found in my purse or snatched the magnetic paper shopping list from the fridge. Sometimes I’ll start typing away directly on the computer, but most often I’ll type things into the computer after writing them on paper. The main thing is to write something down before I forget it!

My favorite planned time to write is first thing in the morning. I’m not an early riser, but I am usually up by about seven. Mornings work for me, because I can be quiet with my thoughts without interruption.  My family usually doesn’t get up and get moving till later in the morning, sometimes as late as ten or ten thirty. This means I can easily get two or three undisturbed hours to write.

Being quiet with my thoughts, doesn’t mean silence for me though. I like to be alone without anyone talking to me or needing anything from me, but I’m not so wild about silence. Music helps to settle my mind. It puts me more at ease for thoughts to freely flow and my fingers to write or type. Sometimes I just have one of my favorite music CDs playing, but often I’ll have one of my YouTube playlist playing in the background on the computer.  Making a music playlist on YouTube is something new I learned this year from a blogger whose blog is now no longer in existence, but I am grateful none the less.

This year I’ve also been exposed to a wider variety of music and found quite a bit I actually really like, including some songs from my daughter. Typically I have been a country and bluegrass music kind of gal. Those types of music still have a place in my heart, but I’ve been listening to the other music lately, some of which I’m not even sure what categories they really are. I just know I like the songs. Here’s a playlist of my favorite songs I like to write by : Soothing Music Playlist.

It’s been a productive morning, though now it’s lunch time. Besides this blog post, I also managed to write a little over 2,000 words on my next memoir. As I wrote, I enjoyed a nice hot cup of earl grey tea too. Another one of my habits. I like to have either a nice cup of hot tea or a glass of sweet iced tea as I write. I encourage you to take a look at your writing habits. Notice what works and notice if there are some tweaks you think may need made so you can write more productively or peacefully.

Share your thoughts? What have you found helps you to write?… 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linneann
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 17:56:57

    I have to have total peace and quiet, hence, I don’t write much when my boys are home. I also like to pray and meditate before I start to write. I often find inspiration that way.

    Reply

  2. sherriepalmer
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 19:08:55

    I love to have a cup of hot green tea when I write. And listening to music varies for me. Sometimes I need silence. When I listen to music it has to be instrumental; no words.

    Reply

  3. Vikki (The View Outside)
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 11:56:36

    I have to have silence 😦 Boring I know lol

    Xx

    Reply

  4. TheOthers1
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 13:32:27

    I don’t listen to music, but I seem to like some noise in the background like the TV (unless I really have to buckle down then only total silence will do).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

