“Look”…It’s a Challenge

English: A Fairy Tale by Dorothy M.Wheeler

This was driving me sufficiently crazy enough that I had to go take a “look”.  Not too long ago, I remember seeing this on another blog about a blogger looking for the word “look” in her work.  I was convinced I don’t use the word anywhere in my writing, so I didn’t even bother to go “look”.  Don’t remember which blog now, but it so happened it has cropped up again.  I’ve been challenged by Discovery to find the word look in my writing and decided I would see what I could find(yes, I resisted the temptation to use “look” again…well almost…ha, ha). 🙂

Here are a few paragraphs from my writing :

I never looked like I’d been hurt or harmed on the outside, but inside my heart I hurt so much.  I had really gotten pretty good through the years at putting on a happy face and starting each day anew.  If anyone asked how I was doing or how everything was going, then I was one of those sweet southern gals that would always say, “Everything’s fine”, “Everything’s okay”, or “It’s good.”

Most of my life, I guess I have lived in a pretend fairy tale, where dust was swept under the rug.  Through all my talking to my therapist and others during the trying times, part of me just wanted someone, anyone to understand.  I didn’t want sympathy or someone to say I was right, so I don’t know for sure why that was so important to me.  I just wanted someone to get it.  Really, no one except for those of us who lived in it could ever truly understand.

Sometimes in writing this or in talking about the things which happened in my marriage, I feel a bit like a horrible person, like I’m being condemning or nothing was good in our lives.  There was a lot of good for so long, even though there were some not so good parts intermingled, guess that’s what makes it hurt worse sometimes.  The magic looking glass cracked and there was no repair.  Dreams spilled forth and were lost.  Never to be recovered.

I won’t make anyone insane by nominating this time.  Sorry, but here is the challenge if you dare :

The Challenge: The “Look” Challenge is for bloggers who are also writers. It is a way to let others sneak a peek at your work. Here’s how it works. You search your manuscript for the word “look” and copy the surrounding paragraphs into a post to let other bloggers read. Then you tag five blogger/writers to invite them to the challenge.

Come on, could be fun???….

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 17:03:51

    I think we realize how wounded people are on the inside because we can’t see those on the outside. If we wore our internal wounds like an external one, we’d all be a mess. Internal stuff is easy to hide.

    Reply

  2. Vikki (The View Outside)Vikki
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 18:33:35

    I discovered that I don’t use it much, but peered? Now that’s a different matter 😉

    Xx

    Reply

  3. rheath40
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 20:57:32

    We are all wounded in some way. I think that’s why we’re. To “look” for solace in one another. We are also the ones that are not afraid to speak up. To say hey, I’m a little nuts and that’s okay. Honey we all have issues. I feel it’s important to talk about them, so I can let them go. I agree with the TheOthers1. If we wore our internal wounds like our external wounds, we would never heal….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

