Never Stop Writing

“Rejection”, the dreaded word for many writers.  Simply put, whatever the piece of writing, it is not wanted by whomever it was sent to for publication.  It could be for any reason from poorly written to not right for this publication at this time.  I’ve been fortunate and so far only received nicely worded rejection letters.  I have read some writers have, at times, received much less than kind rejection letters.  Rejection is part of being a writer.  At least if I’m being rejected, it means I’m trying and trying takes a certain amount of courage.

I like to think I’m not too thin skinned.  I don’t go running for the covers and crying upon receiving a rejection letter.  I don’t stop writing.  I don’t stop trying to submit my writing, but I do find I slow down.  Maybe I shouldn’t, but it’s like I find myself wanting to know that at least one thing I have written and sent out into the world will be accepted before I continue sending more forth.  So far I have received 6 rejections and still have 8 pieces of my writing I’m waiting to hear back on.

Sometimes it’s funny how many coincidences happen on days I’m thinking about something.  Yesterday was just a down day.  I needed a little encouragement and motivation.  While reading my email, I just happened onto a couple of things that encouraged me as a writer.  I thought I’d share them with you just encase you need to add to your supply of motivation.  (Much lower calorie way to do it than the dark chocolate bundt cake with dark chocolate icing I made yesterday afternoon, but boy was it tasty.)

One was a post by a freelance writer named Connor Rickett I read yesterday.  He shared a story of how one of his short stories was rejected, but it led to him getting a paid assignment.  Goes to show sometimes rejection can lead to good things.  In the same blog post he also shares a video of another writer, Neil Gaiman, giving an encouraging commencement address to a group of students.  Mr. Gaiman shared about his aspirations of being a writer and striving towards your dreams.  All of this can be found on Connor’s blog – Cities of the Mind.

The other bit of writing encouragement I ran across was on BubbleCow.  It was a post titled Famous Writers Who Were Rejected Before Making It Big.  It contained a list of 11 famous authors who faced rejection.  Yes, the failures of others does make me feel better.  It reassures me that many writers whose works are quite well known today faced rejection, often in record numbers of rejection slips, before their book or other piece of writing was accepted.  This knowledge helps me to continue to try, even in the face of rejection.

Life continues on.  I keep striving to improve my writing and learn more about the craft of writing.  Yesterday also made me think of the song Tomorrow, which Little Orphan Annie sang in the movie.  I like the hopeful part of the song, “The sun’ll come out tomorrow…”  I’ll keep hoping and not give up.  I can’t.  I’ve found I like writing too much.  If you’re a writer at heart, no matter if you’ve had something published or not, never stop writing.

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Connor @ Citiesofthemind.org
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 16:00:58

    Thanks for the mention! I know how those rough times can get to a writer; I have the same problem with rejection taking the wind right out of my sails. But every time you write, you’re practicing to become a better writer. And if you’re submitting that much writing, you must be improving, and I’m sure it will pay off. To quote Mr. Gaiman, “Make good art.” The rest will follow!

    Reply

  2. TheOthers1
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 17:01:16

    Reblogged this on Honesty and commented:
    Rejection as a writer sucks, but the sun will come out tomorrow, right? Writers gotta write 🙂

    Reply

  3. Naomi Baltuck
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 17:38:19

    Great post. I think anyone would go crazy if she takes every action and interaction in life too personally, and that is especially true for writers, actors, and other artists who are putting themselves out into the public eye to be judged by something as subjective as their creative work. As a writer, I pay attention to the rejections long enough to decide whether they contain valid information that I can use to help me improve my writing, do what I can to incorporate it if I think that is called for, discard the chaff, and move on—writing, of course.

    Reply

  4. Ryan David Muirhead
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 18:06:43

    Rejection’s just part of the writing process. The worst part, but still a part.

    Reply

  5. campfireshadows
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 18:40:21

    I decided that it doesn’t matter anymore whether the sun comes out or not. I’m gonna’ write my western stories for no one but me and the few who like that genre. I’m tired of some highfalutin school trained writer…excuse me, CRITIC telling me I have to write like this or that and stop usin’ abbreviated western lingo in my stories. I ain’t no Van Gogh but I bet he had his critics too. So why wait for the sun to finally shine to make your day happy when rainy days is just as beautiful as long as you write the way it makes you happy.

    Reply

  6. Heidi
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 20:39:15

    I like writing too much to stop too. 🙂 Great post and keep writing!

    Reply

  7. katkasia
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 06:03:41

    Rejections do suck – but as you say, maybe it just didn’t fit with what they needed, rather than being a poor piece in itself. The flip side is that acceptances can be so wildly joyful! All the sweeter so for having been turned away a few times. 🙂

    Reply

  8. alreadynotpublished
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 13:09:29

    well done on your attitude, the sun will surely come out, hopefully before Van Gogh’s did!
    Neil Gaiman is brilliant, I follow his blog here http://journal.neilgaiman.com/
    I understand the go slow after a rejection though, we’re all thinking of you, keep your chin up and write about it, as I now realise you just have. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Daniel
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 15:52:35

    That is great, and there are so many more writers than on the list you linked to that have been rejected so many times you’d think they would have given up. And I think that’s the point. We always have to improve, learn, and grow, but the key is to never give up. You have to want something that bad, sometimes, to get it. Good luck on our journey.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: The Great Matter: Rejection « The Waking Den
  11. heylookawriterfellow
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 14:09:24

    I liked your post. I wrote a piece on rejection a few months back that might be of interest: http://mikeallegra.com/2012/03/17/my-rejection-collection/

    Reply

  12. Elaine Cougler
    Jun 27, 2012 @ 20:33:32

    Be proud of the fact that you’re putting your work out there. Not everyone is. I’ll bet you’ve met people who are writing and no one ever sees their product. We all just have to stay on the treadmill and keep putting one foot in front of the other it we want success.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

