The Not Such Solitary Life of a Writer

Sunset at Rockaway Beach

Sunset at Rockaway Beach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I may be alone a lot, but I still don’t think writing has to be as solitary as many people say.  In fact, I think the internet offers a wide open community for writers with many different options.   Yes, it’s a virtual community, but community none the less.  Lets you know you’re not alone in the world.  Now before anyone thinks I’ve lost my mind, no I’m not advocating just staying home and never venturing forth into the world, but I’m saying there are many sources of support for writers online.

There any many discussion boards on the internet, especially on LinkedIn.  Two of my favorites are the Definitive Serious Writers Group and the Poets group.  Both are supportive groups.  You can share things or ask a question or maybe learn something from a comment posted.  Sometimes there are links to articles or blogs and the Poets group even has a weekly poetry contest just for fun.

Another great source of community I have enjoyed since January, and boy have I learned a lot, is the wide world of blogging.  Many writers share their writing online, resources, and their thoughts on things they’ve learned about writing.  There are plenty of writing prompts offered on blogs as well.  Some of the ones I like are Be Kind Rewrite has writing prompts on the blog called Inspiration Monday and Rosemary Mint has prompts on Thursday Melting.  There are probably many more to be explored out there.  It can be nice to use a writing prompt on one of those days nothing is coming to mind which I want to write about or just for the fun of it or as a challenge.

Reading blogs exposes me to new things too.  Today as I was reading through the WordPress blogs I follow, one blogger called Rosemary Mint, posted an amazing music playlist.  I’m more of a country and bluegrass music kind of gal, but thought it was wonderful and I learned about music not as familiar to me.  Still sitting here listening as I write this.  I know, not really writing related directly, but it is as it inspired me to write.  Also, I’m one of those writers who would rather write listening to music than dead silence.

When I’m at the computer, I always keep paper near too, just in case I need to jot a quick note down.  I’ve learned about interesting books I would like to read, writing contests, different types of poetry forms, writing tips, and a ton of other things.  One day I’ll try to post a list of many of the links I’ve found helpful about writing.  Instead of feeling alone, I actually feel like writing has opened a big wide world.

What are your thoughts about writing as a solitary life?…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. linneann
    May 01, 2012 @ 20:57:41

    Thanks for all the suggestions. I follow Rosemary Mint also. For me, writing is both solitary and lonely, but being a loner, I guess it works out fine for me. 🙂

    Reply

  2. TheOthers1
    May 02, 2012 @ 00:23:33

    I’m a big fan of writing prompts. I follow a few people who do different challenges of various lengths and it seems to really do great things for my creativity. The most recent one I found was supposed to be for a 100 word prompt with pirates being the prompt word. It’s turned into a huge story in my mind, which is odd.

    I really enjoy the writing community found online. It definitely helps encourage me and keep me going.

    Reply

  3. Janet Grace Riehl
    May 02, 2012 @ 02:44:13

    Sabrina, yes the Big Wide World of Blogging brings us many buddies as well as resources. There are buddies I’ve never met as far away as Pakistan. And, there are buddies I have met as far away as South Africa.

    Do you know the Yememi Journey blog? Khadijah also homeschools. She’s written some creative parenting articles for Riehlife. In your lists of interests–alternative medicine, soapmaking, candlemaking, crochet, sewing–there are several I’m sure you’d share.

    Janet Riehl

    Reply

  4. Kat
    May 04, 2012 @ 19:14:09

    Since I’ve started pursuing writing professionally, I found quite a bit of company! It’s not solitary at all. And lord knows, I don’t deal well with silence or being alone much. 🙂 I joined a wonderful community of writer’s in my town and am branching out into other groups. Blogging has always been a joy of mine and I love connecting with others through my writing that way (like with you!). I may be solitary when I sit down and write, but I’m never truly alone. 🙂 Now if only I would get more writing done instead of reading blogs and commenting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

