Sad Goodbye National Poetry Month

POETRY SOCIETY POSTCARD

POETRY SOCIETY POSTCARD (Photo credit: summonedbyfells)

Having been so excited when I first learned of National Poetry Month, I am a little disheartened the month is coming to a close.  There were so many things I wanted to do and it just hasn’t happened as time passes by before I know it.  Poetry still has my heart and I thought I would share a couple of writing specific poems I’ve done.  Also, can happily share there are now ten poems of mine happily floating in the world having been submitted to three different publications and awaiting accepting or rejecting.  (Maybe overkill on the happy, but am very happy at the moment, even though it’s in the wee hours of the night.)

Modern Writer

Fingers tapping on the keys
Spell check and auto save
A modern writer’s life of ease
More useful tools I do crave

Let me check email a bit
Read my blogs a little more
Surf the net while I do sit
Technology I do adore

Promise soon I will write
But social media, me, oh my
Calling me into the night
Wasted time does make me sigh

Must put the computer down
Make this pen go to town

 

A Reader’s Request

Writer, writer pen in hand
Take me to another land
Develop characters and plot
Give an ending to hit the spot
Thrill my mind as I do read
Maybe your novel will succeed

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 09:51:01

    Nice! Love that first poem.

    I made myself do a poem a day with prompts from Writer’s Digest. It was fun, but I think I’m just about poemed out. Ha! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kat
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 16:32:09

    It is sad the month is gone, but I’ll never stop writing poetry! 🙂 Poetry, for me, is like my art…it’s an expression of feeling and emotion. Without it, I’d feel stifled and lost.

    The poems you wrote were fun! And happy. 😉

    Reply

  3. alreadynotpublished
    May 01, 2012 @ 12:42:26

    You’ll be ok, and to be honest, while scrolling through the wordpress topics I’ll be glad to see fewer bad haikus! Bring on May madness, something I literally just made up, let’s work it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

