Reassessing Goals

Goal setting: creates a future

Goal setting: creates a future (Photo credit: lululemon athletica)

Every now and then it can be a good thing to reassess goals.  See if the original goals you have set are being met, if the goals need changed, or if the goals need totally removed from your list.  I have decided since things have changed in my life it is time for me to reassess the goals I set regarding my writing.

Originally when I first started this blog I was completely unemployed and attempting to begin freelance writing.  Recently I have been able to find a job, which is nice as I feel some of the pressure is removed from writing to make sure it earns money.  This is a two edged sword per se and may also be a bad point.  Either way, I guess the main point is at least I am still motivated to write and still working on freelance writing.  Temporarily I also have another side freelance job I am working on from home.  It is not writing, however, but is internet research.

I love to read, so the goal I set of reading two books a month is one I think I’ll keep.  Though I haven’t kept up with the goal of two blog posts a week, I still think it is a goal that can be met, life has just kind of got in the way.  Another goal I want to add is to start submitting my writing, which I still have yet to do and I have several things ready.  Just need to try to find homes for them.  The article writing goal is one I am deleting from my list as my priorities have changed and two articles per day was too much with the other projects.  I’m still writing articles, but have also expanded to working on other things.  Poetry, personal essays, and a few books are the writing projects topping my list these days.

Any good tips for reassessing your goals or helping to meet the goals you have set?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karmicangel
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 02:39:41

    Hmm… I try to keep in mind my goals.. something I learned [shockingly] from work actually – if you don’t keep your goals measurable then you can’t really tell if you’ve accomplished them. It can be anything from keeping it small: “I will write a blog post once a week, and read all the blogs I follow during the rest of the week” or something bigger, “I will finish transcribing this *@$^ book before Friday and then reward myself with two days off to finish Star Wars: Fate of the Jedi!” Well. You’ve learned way too much about me in this comment, but there you are. All the best!

    Reply

  2. Brian Andre` Kirton
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 02:43:13

    Creativity or crazy their is a fine line between the two! 🙂 I only put one post a week. Complacency is another reason why you must always revamp your goals.

    Reply

  3. floridawasp
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 03:05:59

    More chance for pleasure when you dont have the pressure of , have to,.

    Reply

  4. TheOthers1
    Apr 18, 2012 @ 03:19:26

    I was thinking that I needed to do a reassessment of goals since we’re halfway through the month. I’m probably behind and need to make my goals smaller so they are actually achievable. If it won’t depress me too badly, I’ll reevaluate my goals in a post tomorrow.

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 16:00:43

    I recently just started my freelance writing journey too (last week actually) and just reassessed my writing goals and wrote a blog post about it. I think creating action plans, putting a deadline to your goal can be really helpful and giving it a realistic timeline “I will get this article done by x date.” Happy Writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

