Explorations in Social Media

English: Infographic on how Social Media are b...

Image via Wikipedia

I promise I have been reading and writing quite a bit.  Gracious I’ve even been outdoors a lot the last couple of days as the weather has been so nice.  Somehow though, my mind seems hooked on television today.  Not watching it, just thinking of shows.  Just left some writing I was doing about my thoughts on a television sitcom to come write this post as a matter of fact.

The writing was about a science fiction show, which got my mind clicking and it joined up with thoughts I had while checking emails this morning.  I thought how my explorations into social media reminds me of the beginning of the old episodes of “Star Trek“.  The part where Captain Kirk was talking about venturing forth into “…Space, the final frontier.”  The world of social media seems as vast as space to me and easy to get overwhelmed in, so I try to tread cautiously yet I do find it offers a wealth of information and support.

I’ve kind of found a good rhythm to my days, though no two days are ever set in stone and followed rigidly.  Normally I like to check my emails first thing in the morning, which gets me started in the wide world of social media.  I’m on LinkedIn, so I run through the emails from the groups I’m in and will comment on some discussions if something catches my eye.

If you are not familiar with LinkedIn yet, it would be worth exploring.  You can find it at www.linkedin.com.  It is a great way to share in a community of writers.  I am in several writing and poetry groups.  It is also a great resource for tips and discovering wonderful links.  This morning someone posted a link to www.everywritersresource.com, which I have only briefly visited and will hopefully explore more today.

Another social media my daughter taught me about years ago is facebook, which it seems everyone has heard of now.  I only visit my facebook page a little and enjoy it to keep in touch with family and friends primarily.  It is also connected to my wordpress blogs, so links to each new post show up there.  I do not post everything I write, but will occasionally post a link to something I have written I want to share.

I’m always open to learning and my sister taught me about the latest social media craze, Pinterest, and yes I am hooked.  For me Pinterest is primarily a source of relaxation and occasionally inspiration.  You can create many virtual bulletin boards and pin things from a wide array of images that you find interesting.  Recently I even started a board for books I want to read one day, many of which I have stumbled across from reading blogs.  You can join Pinterest by invitation, I’ll be glad to send you one if you’d like, or you can request an invite by visiting www.pinterest.com.

The last bit of social media I partake in is blogging.  I used to read blogs occasionally, but have really enjoyed blogging myself.  As another blogger posted this week, blogging is in a sense it’s own community.  I enjoy commenting on other blogs and enjoy reading comments left on my blogs.

Well, these are just some of my explorations in social media, enjoy your search into the vast world and find what works for you.  There is so much and everything may not be your cup of tea.  For example, for me there will be no tweeting with twitter.  Not that I dislike twitter, but my cup runneth over.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leslie
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 17:23:17

    I love that you referenced Star Trek! I try to do that anytime I can find an opportunity, just because I am such a sci-fi geek I find it a good way of putting some of myself into the post. I did nothing with social media until recently — now I am really enjoying it. Especially Twitter! Can you believe it? I also made myself a writer’s portfolio showcasing the clients I’ve written for using Pinterest, which was really fun. Love Pinterest!!!!!

    Reply

  2. TheOthers1
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 19:50:41

    I won’t touch Pinterest. I can’t pick up another online addiction. Twitter and WordPress take up enough of my time as it is. Facebook has dropped for me since I’ve taken on the other two. It just doesn’t hold my interest and things are too dramatic.

    Reply

  3. margiewrites
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 06:25:19

    Social media to you is Star Trek; for me, it’s being Alice in Wonderland, falling down the rabbit hole. Logging in to Twitter, you can spend so much time clicking around. One link takes you to another website and something else will catch your eye — it could go on forever.

    You finally get through your stream, read all the articles and a few hours will have passed by. You ask yourself, “What did I learn?” Actually, not much.

    I’ve had to cut down on Twitter lately because I found it was such a time suck! I still use it occasionally and am getting better at skimming, but it can really suck you in…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

