Searching for Writing Ideas and Motivation

Cover of "How to Get Ideas"

Cover of How to Get Ideas

I am in one of those discouraged moods.  I know I won’t stay there long, but at the moment I am having one of those self pity “woe is me” parties.  I know things take time and I just need to persevere.  Life just doesn’t seem to move as quickly as I want it to at times.  When I am in one of these moods, it zaps my motivation and makes it hard to get things done.

Right now I could either curl up reading a book for hours or watch television without really watching it, but just to distract my mind from thinking about things.  Neither one of those would really be productive choices, when there is so much that needs to be done.  Yes, we all need some down time, but I feel I have had way too much down time this week.

Instead I thought I would write, because usually it seems I feel better when I write.  The only problem is I don’t know what to write about and there is nothing I really have a great desire to write about right now.  I have looked at my list of article ideas, but none of them are interesting to me at the moment.

This blog post may be the only writing I accomplish today, but I am exploring the internet some for article ideas.  I found a website called Quips and Tips for Successful Writers at http://theadventurouswriter.com/blogwriting/how-to-get-ideas-for-magazine-articles-freelance-writing-tips/, which had an article with some useful suggestions on how to get ideas.  If I can get motivated at least maybe I will work on a list of some ideas after answering some of the questions I found there.  Well, away I go to surf the internet some more, but hopefully will not lose myself there too long and will find a spark of motivation.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TheOthers1
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 23:40:50

    Not a fun place to be in and a hard place to get out of. I love using pictures and word promote to get through it. Good luck finding ideas!

    Reply

  2. Leslie
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 00:43:48

    Sabrina, I know exactly where you are at. I find life’s challenges frequently strip all creativity right out of me. One of the things I’m doing is trying to turn them into witty blog posts, so I can laugh at myself. I also find that glaciers are moving faster than the whole freelance writer thing right now…. Just keep going. Perseverance is its own reward in terms of enhanced self respect and inner strength!

    Reply

  3. dawnreneefreelancewriter
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 00:54:37

    I can totally relate! I’m sorry you’re going through a ‘writing funk’ right now. Maybe it’s your body or your mind’s way of telling you to chill for a while? I just came off of a 2 day marathon of writing and I told myself to take a break from that type of writing today. However, I have felt kind of lost. I guess it’s because the adrenaline rush of meeting a deadline is gone. I don’t know.

    Hope you find some inspiration tonight! Thanks for the post. It’s nice to know I’m not alone.

    Reply

  4. Sally Jenkins
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 16:52:14

    It can be so hard to get going sometimes can’t it?
    I need to have a market/competition in mind for my work and that usually gets me going.

    Reply

  5. elainecougler
    Mar 14, 2012 @ 12:17:41

    Hi Sabrina!
    Every one of us has felt what you’re feeling so the up (down?) side is you’re not unique. I make those days ‘be kind to myself’ days and I try to do things that I love, like playing the piano and singing lovely old songs. By the time I get up after an hour or so, the music has pulled me out of the doldrums. Or you could fake it till you make it. All the best to you.

    Reply

  6. margiewrites
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 23:51:57

    Sometimes you just need to do non-writing-related reading or non-writing activities, period! I like to watch movies I can get lost in, listen to angsty music, even house work! And if you really have to write to meet a deadline, sometimes you’ve just got to write down anything. The words will eventually come to you — just jot down some ideas, words, phrases, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

