Writing Magazine Query Letters

Magazines

Image via Wikipedia

I would like to start to submit articles to magazines, so I have been reading a lot lately about writing magazine query letters.  The Right-Writing.com website had a great article “The Beginner’s Guide to Freelance Writing”, which shared useful information to write queries.  It cleared up definitions about things such as first rights, second serial rights, and kill fees as well as even had a sample letter.  The article can be found at http://www.aboutfreelancewriting.com/2009/08/magazine-query-letter-sample/.   This was just one of many articles I have read online, but it seemed to have the greatest amount of useful information in one place.

Another thing I have done in preparation of sending magazine queries is to look for places to submit articles.  The last few days I have kept a supply of post it flags near my favorite chair as I have perused the library’s copy of the 2010 edition of the Writer’s Market.  I am amazed at the discovery of some magazines I didn’t even know existed as well as the number of places I can attempt to submit some of my poetry.  I know it seems the overwhelming school of thought is you can’t make a living writing poetry, but my poetry makes me happy.

It seems the advice to improve writing is to do more of it and often, so I am hoping this will apply well to writing query letters too.  I have to admit I am a bit nervous as I am not an established writer with multiple clips to prove I can write, but everyone had to begin somewhere.  I plan to start with areas I have experience in such as homeschooling and caregiving.  Well, now I need to quit procrastinating, so away I go to write some magazine queries.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie Bennis
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 14:31:46

    For one of my college courses we focused solely on article writing and throughout the term were required to actually submit them to real publications. While I’ve forgotten some of this information, I can still remember how scary it was to reach out and put your work before someone elses eyes. I give a lot of credit to freelancers!

    Reply

  2. Leslie
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 14:52:32

    Hi Sabrina,

    Thanks for linking to two of my posts at http://awritersquery.com and subscribing to my blog. I’ll keep up with yours also, let’s encourage each other since we are both trying to get into magazines!

    Reply

  3. alreadynotpublished
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 11:00:35

    Let me tell you, you’re writing is first and foremost the most important thing, sure Vogue or Time Magazine are gonna want comprehensive writing credits, that’s why you need to apply to the smaller, niche mags first, I’m sure you’ll build up some writing credits quickly. As you said yourself the way to improve, the way to get published is to write more, more often.
    Go for it!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: AWP 2012 | Now That’s a Novel Idea: Marketability (Gasp!) and Creative Writing Programs (Part 4) « Write on the World

Leave a Reply

