Inspiration for Writers

Ernest Hemingway Writing at Campsite in Kenya ...

Image via Wikipedia

Yes, I have a thing for used bookstores.  I found another interesting book, Beating the Odds :  Getting Published in the Field of Literacy by editors Shelley B. Wepner and Linda B. Gambrell.  Even though this book is geared towards those in the literacy field, I thought it had quite a bit of useful information for any writer.

I found several inspirational quotes from other writers in the book :

  • Edward Fry – “there is only one kind of author who never gets rejections:  the author who doesn’t submit anything”
  • E.B. White – “Writing is an act of faith, not a trick of grammar.”
  • Ernest Hemingway – “For a long time now I have tried to write simply the best I can.  Sometimes I have good luck and write better than I can.”
  • Bill Wheeler – “Good writing is clear thinking made visible.”

I thought a good idea would be to start writing inspiring quotes I find on sticky notes and put them up in visible places near my desk. Online I started to pin inspirational things I find on a board at pinterest. Pinterest can be found at http://pinterest.com/ , just beware you can waste time there and get sidetracked from writing. My thinking is if I surround myself with words of encouragement and things which inspire me, it will help me hang in there even during the discouraging times.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lois Hoffman
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 12:32:08

    Nice post. I like the quote, “Writing is an act of faith.” It sure feels like it sometimes. Thanks for the link.

    Reply

  2. ariadnesdaughter
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 20:51:47

    These are great quotes. I have sticky note quotes all over my desk! My favorite one is from Martha Graham – which actually seems to have fallen off my computer screen – you know those sticky notes sometimes lose their stick! It’s long, but the main part goes something like … there is only one of you in all of time and if you don’t express your creativity the world will never have it. (not her exact words). It’s a quote worth looking for in its entirety (which I’ll be doing soon amongst all this paper clutter on my desk…) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

