Poetry and Life Inspired Writing

Poetry BooksThis has been an incredible week for writing.  My mind seems to be so full of ideas that my fingers have trouble keeping up.  I have really enjoyed writing poetry, but have been writing several other things as well.  Here is a short poem I wrote a bit ago :

Thoughts and thoughts on my mind
Pen to paper all the time
Releasing thoughts to unwind
Writing, the joy found is sublime

As usual, I have spent quite a bit of time researching information online, but have done a better job of time management.  I have been writing every day this week, even for hours at some times.  Two resources I have really utilized often are the online dictionary at www.dictionary.com and Rhymer by WriteExpress at www.rhymer.com .  I know all poetry doesn’t have to rhyme, but I do have a preference for rhyming poetry.

Just for pure pleasure, there is a resource soon to be a favorite of mine, which is online radio.  I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner, but it is nice to be listening to relaxing music as I am writing away on my laptop.  The one I have been listening to this morning is AOL Radio, which can be found at http://music.aol.com/radioguide/bb .

There are so many sources for inspiration to write in the world around us.  I have decided I am going to start keeping an eye out for inspirational quotes about writing and pictures of things which inspire me.  Another wish list item is a digital camera, so I can take pictures to put with some of the articles I am writing as well as inspirational things I encounter in my journeys outdoors.  One of my favorite writing breaks is to go for a walk in the woods behind our home.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ariadnesdaughter
    Mar 12, 2012 @ 21:04:00

    Great ideas, great sources and a really cute, little poem. I’m especially going to check out rhymer.com. Most of my poems don’t rhyme, but I should write more that do. I also use music and nature as inspiration. You can’t go wrong there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

